New York State Security Guard Classes
8 Hour Pre-Assignment NYS Security Guard Training Course- The first required course is the 8-hour Pre-assignment Training Course and is required training by the Division of Criminal Justice Services in order to receive your New York State Security Guard License. This is a general introductory course. You are issued a certificate upon successful completion. This certificate must accompany your Security Guard license application when submitted to the Department of State.
Certificate of completion will be given that day.
16 Hour On-The-Job NYS Security Guard Training Course (OJT)- The second required course for the New York State Security Guard License is the 16 Hour On- The-Job Security Guard Training Course (OJT). This class should be taken within the first 90 days of full time employment. This training program is relevant to the duties of the security guard, requirements of the work site, and the needs of the employer. This is a 2 day class.
8 Hour Annual In-Service NYS Security Guard Training Course- The third required training course for the New York State Security Guard license is the 8-Hour Annual In-Service Training Course. This security guard training course must be completed each calendar year. This program is designed to meet current training needs and refresh or update guards in changes in the field. The security guard must complete this course annually as a prerequisite for renewal of their security guard license. Certificate will be given that day.
$55 ($50 for our returning students from the prior year)
47 Hour Firearms Training — $650- This is a 47 hour course required by New York State as the first step in obtaining a special armed guard registration card from the New York State Department of State. To attend the course students must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to NY Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid NYS security guard registration card. The course consists of 7 hours of NYS Penal Law Article 35 (Use of Force/Deadly Physical Force) and 40 hours of range instruction and qualification. To successfully complete the course the student must pass a written examination on Article 35 and qualify with a handgun.
8 Hour Annual Firearms Training — $80- This is an 8 hour course that must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Guards, and annually thereafter. To attend the course students must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to NY Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid NYS security guard registration card. The course consists of 3 hours of NYS Penal Law Article 35 (Use of Force/Deadly Physical Force) and 5 hours of range instruction and qualification. To successfully complete the course the student must pass a written examination on Article 35 and qualify with a handgun.
HR218 Qualification — L.E.O.S.A. — For Retired Police Officers
- $40 For the first handgun (revolver/semi-auto)
- $30 for an additional handgun
- See Combo class information for HR218 and 8 Hour Armed Annual Firearms course
8 Hour Annual Armed Security Guard and HR218 Combo Class -- $100 (1 or 2 weapons) $25 for each additional weapon.- This is a combination course only for Retired Law Enforcement personnel with a NYS Armed Security Guard license. Upon completion of this course you will have fulfilled the annual requirment for Armed Security Guards and will be able to travel in all fifty states with the type of handgun they qualified with.
Combo class includes:
- The course takes approximately 2 1/2 hours to complete. Topics covered include: Weapon Safety, Course of Fire (Fifty Round D.C.J.S. Certified Course), review the HR-218 requirements of the Federal Bill explaining what is expected of you when carrying your weapon out of state. After lecture portion, students will proceed to the range for qualification where a minimum of seventy percent is required. When qualification is completed, a photo identification card will be issued to the retired officer. This identification card and your police identification card is required to be carried when you are armed.
All participants are REQUIRED to bring their Retired Police ID card, Pistol License, Weapon(s) of Choice, Magazines, Holster and 50 rounds of Ammunition for each weapon.
DISCOUNT AVAILABLE FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL, SENIOR CITIZENS 65+, AND THOSE THAT COME TO US YEARLY FOR THE ANNUAL CLASS.VALID ID IS REQUIRED THE DAY OF THE CLASS TO RECEIVE DISCOUNT.
A minimum of a $20 deposit is required to confirm your seat in the class. Please continue with the registration process or call our office to complete your registration.